Salafi Islamic Kids Tawhid Book Series and Sharia Dawa


Bismillaah (In The Name of Allaah)

Dear Reader,

Have fun with your hair dying it one of these beautiful colors with some henna!

blonde

Her Mix:

I did it! I started off an ucky dishwater blonde that which has steadily become darker after I had my first child. The last time I dyed my hair was 13 months ago; the dye didn’t even last 2 weeks. I had tried (tested) henna before and it added a very khaki like green tinge to my hair. After revisiting this site I decided to try it again, but with body art quality henna. Success!!!

My hair is almost down to my bra strap, but really thick, so I used:

 200g of henna powder

2 cups of freshly squeezed lemon juice.

 I left the witches brew out on my counter all night and applied it immediately after putting my boys on the bus. I made a Saran Wrap turban and puttered around the house for 3 hours, than I took a long hot soak in the tub for an hour. I rinsed it out and viola; beautiful red hair! It has since darkened since I took the picture. The picture was taken the same afternoon.

Meri

whiteblonde

My hair is normaly what my friends call “dirty dishwater blonde”.  It’s also rather fine so although I’ve always wanted it long, every time I grow it out it starts splitting and getting coarse feeling.  Anyway, I’d heard about how good henna is for hair, so I decided to do some research and in the end bought 100 g of henna and 300 g of cassia.  I didn’t want to really change my hair color, just add a few highlights and mostly strengthen and condition it.

I did a strand test that turned out a little redder than I wanted, so the next day I adjusted the proportions and…

 

This is the mix I used:
1 c. cassia
2 T. henna
1/2 c. chamomile grounds
1/2 c. olive oil
1/2 c. lemon juice
hot water to yogurt-like consistancy


(Next time I’ll add more henna and use chamomile tea instead of grounds – I think they’ll release better soaking in water than in a thick paste.)


After mixing that all up, I put it in bowl, covered it with plastic wrap and put it under our wood stove.  After about 12 hours of letting it sit and release, I got in the shower and started covering my hair with the goop.  It was much more of a mess than I had thought it would be – so it was good I was in the shower!  I used up almost all the mixture and then plastic wrapped my head up and put a towel around it.  Then I watched a movie with my husband for 1 1/2 hrs before rinsing it all out.

It turned out really nice – with very slight red highlights (next time I’ll use more henna for stronger highlights).  My hair feels soft and the ends don’t feel as coarse and frizzy as they did before.  And I smelled like chamomile for days!

Anyway that’s me – Evie Mae

red-hair

I have a bit past shoulder length curly hair, naturally ashy mid brown with golden highlights. The ends of my hair are darker due to old black chemical dye. It is blending in with successive henna applications, I don’t think it will ever completely blend, though. I also had chemical brown dye on the middle section of my hair, but that completely disappeared under the henna.My mix:125-150g body art quality henna
6 tbs red wine vinegar
10 tbs lemon juice
3 tbs virgin olive oil (my hair is very dry)

I mix very well, cover with cling film leaving no air, let sit all night for dye release. Next morning, I add to the mix:

4 tbs paprika
lavender essential oil 5 drops
rosemary essential oil 5 drops
tea tree oil essential oil 2 drops

And then I add more lemon juice until it has the right consistency, like yogurt or so. The total amount of lemon juice is more or less 25 cl.

My curly hair is too difficult to apply henna to when it is dry, so I apply it on clean damp hair. Then I wrap my head with cling film, and a towel to keep it warm. I leave it on 3 or 4 hours.

Then, I rinse it off, in a bucket of water, with running water, and with the help of conditioner. Last is a vinegar rinse. About 1 tbs of red wine vinegar in two cups of water. If I do the vinegar rinse my hair doesn’t stain my towels.

Greetings,
Mer

I love using henna for my hair and find it really gives me more to be thankful for, from Allah. Have you used any of these recipes or others to colour your hair, please let us know how the colouring came out and if you enjoyed the experience.

About the Author: Halimah bint David authored, illustrated, published and marketed several children  books for Muslim Kindle for kids in Islam  and Sharia Ruqyah for exorcisms in adults. Halimah founded a few popular blogs at SurvivorsAreUs.WordPress.Com, HighwayToHeaven.WordPress.Com, ChristinaMacQuarrie.Wordpress.Com and is currently researching and implementing new copy writing skills.

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

