Salafi Islamic Kids Tawhid Book Series and Sharia Dawa


homemade toothpaste

Bismillaah

Dear Reader,

So, in light of all the recent findings in this blog e.g (deodorant, soaps, mercury poisoning, fluoride and etc) I have decided to make my own toothpaste.  I found some recipes online and read up on what are typically used as ingredients. I decided to use what I already have in my own home.

Proctor and Gamble and Lever Brothers-and any number of other manufacturers-would like us to believe that the only proper way to care for our teeth is with expensive, highly flavored toothpastes that come in non-biodegradable, throwaway, zinc-and-lead (Now plastic -ed.) tubes.

Unlike the picture above which shows what most people elect to use in their own personal recipes I chose much different ingredients after reading this. I chose to not use salt as we ingest enough of that with food and I do not want to add it into my toothpaste as well when I can use better cleaning agents. Just a thought!

My Homemade Whitening Toothpaste ;)

7t Baking Soda

3 capfulls of Peroxide

2 capfulls of Apple Cider Vinegar

1 drop of Tea Tree Oil

3t Cinnamon

1 drop of clove oil

2T Water

I placed my ingredients in a small bottle that has its own cap. I just dip my brush in or pour a little out to coat my brush. When I am finished brushing I then add more water into my mouth and proceed to rinse and gargle the remnants.

Ignoring the taste which was similar to spinach for me, I brushed as I regularly do. Upon finishing the brushing of my teeth I noticed a feeling of very clean teeth.  I could feel the vinegar, peroxide and baking soda continuing even after I had stopped and rinsed my mouth clean. I even felt the ingredients cleaning in between my teeth as a type of natural liquid floss. Very Cool!

My toothpaste recipe naturally settles into different levels of it’s components after a few minutes. I simply shake the bottle when I am ready to use it again. I suggest everyone use a bottle they can shake when they are ready to use it so that everything will be mixed back together again easily.

I hope you enjoy your favorite concoction of toothpaste. Don’t be afraid to have fun with it ;) I wish you the best with your teeth.

Comments on: "Homemade Toothpaste Recipe" (1)

  1. Hi, I work with Geez, a non-profit magazine, and I’m really interested in your “homemade toothepaste” experiment. Would you be interested in writing a short piece (50-500 words) on what you are doing, why you are doing it and what you are learning from it?

    I am the section editor of the experiments section and am always on the hunt for people who are trying new things and making an effort to live sustainably, wisely, or just differently.

    You can check out our mag at geezmagazine.org.

    Please email me at editor@geezmagazine.org if this is something you would like to do.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

